Faculty

Regular FacultyResearch & Visiting FacultyAdjunct FacultyCourtesy Appointment Emeritus Faculty

Regular Faculty

Shahrokh Ahmadi
Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1994, University of Maryland at College Park
Microelectronics; VLSI Systems

5640 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-4956
ahmadi@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Robert L Carroll
Professor
Ph.D. 1973, University of Connecticut
Control Systems; Robotics

5530 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5917
carroll@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Edward Della Torre
Professor
D.E.Sc. 1964, Columbia University
Electromagnetics; Radiation Systems and Microwave Engineering

5560 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-0410
edt@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Milos Doroslovacki
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1994, University of Cincinnati
Signal Processing; Communication

6620 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6916
doroslov@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Tarek A. El-Ghazawi
Professor
Ph.D. 1988, New Mexico State University
Computer Architecture; High-Performance Computing

6560 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-2607
tarek@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Kie-Bum Eom
Professor
Ph.D. 1986, Purdue University
Image Porcessing

5655 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5904
eom@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Amir Etemadi
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, University of Toronto
Microgrids; Smart Grids; Renewable Energy

6630 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6427
etemadi@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Hernan Figueroa
Professor of Practice
Ph.D. 2005, University of South Carolina
Control and Communications for Power Systems

 
 
hpfigueroa@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Robert Harrington
Professor
Ph.D. 1967, University of Liverpool
Electric Power and Energy

6615 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-3158
rharring@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Hermann J. Helgert
Professor
Ph.D. 1966, SUNY-Buffalo
Communication Networks; Wireless Transmission Systems; Error Control Techniques

6560 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6208
hhelgert@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Howie Huang
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Virginia
Computer Architecture and Systems; High-Performance Computing; Big Data

6610 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-0523
howie@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Can Korman
Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies and Professor
Ph.D. 1990, University of Maryland at College Park
Magnetics; Micro/Nano-electronics; Numerical Modeling

2885D Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-2245
korman@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Nicholas Kyriakopoulos
Professor
D.Sc. 1968, The George Washington University
Systems and Controls; Modeling and Performance Evaluation of Arms Control Treaties

5630 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6797
kyriak@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Tian Lan
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2010, Princeton University
Cyber Security; Resource Optimization; Cloud Computing

6580 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5079
tlan@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Roger Lang
Professor
Ph.D. 1968, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn
Remote Sensing; Wave Propagation; Communication Channel Modeling

5870 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6199
lang@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Ahmed Louri
David and Marilyn Karlgaard Endowed Chair Professor of ECE
Ph.D. 1988, University of Southern California
Computer Architecture; high-performance computing, Network-on-Chips, Resilient and Secure Multicore Architectures

5580 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-8241
louri@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Ergun Simsek
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2006, Duke University
Nanophotonics; Opto-electronics

5880 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-7175
simsek@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Volker J. Sorger
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2005, The University of California - Berkeley
Nanophotonics; Opto-electronics

6590 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-7186
sorger@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Suresh

Suresh Subramaniam
Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D. 1997, University of Washington
Optical Networks; Data Center Networks

5000B Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5905
suresh@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Guru Prasadh V. Venkataramani
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2009, Georgia Tech
Computer Architecture; Secure Computing; Multicore Processsors

6600 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-2980
guruv@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Mona Zaghloul
Professor
Ph.D. 1975, University of Waterloo
Biosensors; Chemical Sensors; IC Design and Implemntation

5550 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-3772
zaghloul@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Research & Visiting Faculty

Lawrence Bennett
Research Professor
Ph.D. 1958, Rutgers University
Magneto-optics; Magnetic Refrigeration

227G Exploration Hall
Phone: 571-553-8333
lbennett@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


David Nagel
Research Professor
Ph.D. 1977, University of Maryland at College Park
Low Energy Nuclear Reactions

101A Tompkins Hall
Phone: 202-994-4109
nagel@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Vikram Narayana
Assistant Research Professor
Ph.D. 2007, Indian Institute of Technology Madras
Computer Architecture; High-Performance Computing

327D Exploration Hall
Phone: 703-726-8218
vikram@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Adjunct Faculty

Saul Torrico storrico@gwu.edu
Arush Gadkar arush@gwu.edu
Omer Kavaklioglu kavaklioglu@gwu.edu
Omar Mazzoni osm@gwu.edu
Asha Mehrotra amehrotra@gwmail.gwu.edu
Tirumale Ramesh ramesh@gwu.edu
Steven Weiss sweiss@gwu.edu
Jerry Wu clwu@gwu.edu
Sean Yun syun@gwu.edu


Courtesy Appointment

Murray H. Loew
Professor
Ph.D. 1972, Purdue University
Pattern recognition; Biomedical Image and Signal Processing

6660 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5910
loew@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Emeritus Faculty

Nikitas Alexandridis, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1971, University of California, alexan@gwu.edu
 
Walter K. Kahn, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1960, Polytechnic University of New York, wkkahn@gwu.edu
 
Ting Lee, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1972, University of Wisconsin, tnlee@gwu.edu
 
Martha Pardavi-Horvath, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1985,  Hungarian Academy of Sciences, mpardavi@gwu.edu
 
Raymond Pickholtz, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.1966, Polytechnic University of Brooklyn, pickholt@gwu.edu
 
Branimir Vojcic, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1989, University of Belgrade, vojcic@gwu.edu
 
Wasyl Wasylkiwskyj, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.1968, Polytechnic University of Brooklyn, wasylkiw@gwu.edu