Faculty

Regular FacultyResearch & Visiting FacultyProfessorial LecturersCourtesy Appointment Emeritus Faculty

Regular Faculty

Shahrokh Ahmadi
Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1994, University of Maryland at College Park
Microelectronics; VLSI Systems

5640 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-4956
ahmadi@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Carroll

Robert L Carroll
Professor
Ph.D. 1973, University of Connecticut
Robotics and Controls

5530 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5917
carroll@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Payman

Payman Dehghanian
Assistant Professor (January 1, 2018)
Ph.D. 2017, Texas A&M University
Power Systems




View full profile
 


Torre

Edward Della Torre
Professor
D.E.Sc. 1964, Columbia University
Magnetic Devices

5560 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-0410
edt@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Milos Doroslovacki
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1994, University of Cincinnati
Signal Processing for Communications, Adaptive Signal Processing, Detection and Estimation

6620 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6916
doroslov@gwu.edu
View full profile


Tarek A. El-Ghazawi
Professor
Ph.D. 1988, New Mexico State University
HPC, Computer Architecture, Big Data

6560 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-2607
tarek@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Kie-Bum Eom
Professor
Ph.D. 1986, Purdue University
Multimedia Processing, Image Processing

5655 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5904
eom@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Hernan Figueroa
Professor of Practice
Ph.D. 2005, University of South Carolina
Control and Optimization; Algorithms and Data Analytics; Embedded Systems

104A Tompkins Hall
Phone: 202-994-3380
hpfigueroa@gwu.edu
View full profile


Harrington

Robert Harrington
Professor
Ph.D. 1967, University of Liverpool
Electric Power and Energy

6615 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-3158
rharring@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Hermann J. Helgert
Professor
Ph.D. 1966, SUNY-Buffalo
Satellite and Cellular Networks

6640 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6208
hhelgert@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Howie Huang
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Virginia
HPC, Big Data, Cloud

6610 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-0523
howie@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Can Korman
Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies and Professor
Ph.D. 1990, University of Maryland at College Park
Electromagnetics, Magnetism & Hysteresis, Device Electronics

2885D Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-2245
korman@gwu.edu
View full profile


Nicholas Kyriakopoulos
Professor
D.Sc. 1968, The George Washington University
Signal processing, Controls and Systems Theory, Application of Technology to Arms Control

5630 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6797
kyriak@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Tian Lan

Tian Lan
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2010, Princeton University
Cloud/Fog Computing, IoT, Cyber Security, Datacenter Networks

6580 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5079
tlan@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Roger Lang
L. Stanley Crane Professor
Ph.D. 1968, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn
Remote Sensing

5870 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-6199
lang@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


President Leblanc

Thomas J. LeBlanc
University President; Professor, jointly appointed to the Departments of Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering

View full profile




 


Ahmed Louri

Ahmed Louri
David and Marilyn Karlgaard Endowed Chair Professor of ECE
Ph.D. 1988, University of Southern California
HPC, NoCs, SoC, Optical Interconnects

5580 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-8241
louri@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Sorger

Volker J. Sorger
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2011, The University of California - Berkeley
Photonics, Optical Computing

6590 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-7186
sorger@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Suresh

Suresh Subramaniam
Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D. 1997, University of Washington
Optical Networking, Cloud/Fog Computing, IoT, Data Center Networks

5000B Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5905
suresh@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Guru

Guru Prasadh V. Venkataramani
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2009, Georgia Tech
HPC, Computer Architecture

6600 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-2980
guruv@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Mona Zaghloul
Professor
Ph.D. 1975, University of Waterloo
VLSI, Electronics

5550 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-3772
zaghloul@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


Research & Visiting Faculty

Lawrence Bennett
Research Professor
Ph.D. 1958, Rutgers University
Magneto-optics; Magnetic Refrigeration

227G Exploration Hall
Phone: 571-553-8333
lbennett@gwu.edu
View full profile
 


David Nagel
Research Professor
Ph.D. 1977, University of Maryland at College Park
Low Energy Nuclear Reactions

101A Tompkins Hall
Phone: 202-994-4109
nagel@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Professorial Lecturers

Amir Aslani aaslani@gwu.edu
Arush Gadkar arush@gwu.edu
Omer Kavaklioglu kavaklioglu@gwu.edu
Omar Mazzoni osm@gwu.edu
Sina Najmaei snajmaei@gwu.edu
Jerry Wu clwu@gwu.edu
Sean Yun syun@gwu.edu
Mohammed Shamma shamma_m@gwu.edu
Saul Torrico storrico@gwu.edu
Arzhang Zamani zamani@gwu.edu
Yiwen Zhou zhou@gwu.edu

 


Courtesy Appointment

Loew

Murray H. Loew
Professor
Ph.D. 1972, Purdue University
Pattern recognition; Biomedical Image and Signal Processing

6660 Science & Engineering Hall
Phone: 202-994-5910
loew@gwu.edu
View full profile

 


Emeritus Faculty

Nikitas Alexandridis, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1971, University of California
 
Walter K. Kahn, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1960, Polytechnic University of New York, wkkahn@gwu.edu
 
Ting Lee, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1972, University of Wisconsin, tnlee@gwu.edu
 
Martha Pardavi-Horvath, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1985,  Hungarian Academy of Sciences, mpardavi@gwu.edu
 
Raymond Pickholtz, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.1966, Polytechnic University of Brooklyn, pickholt@gwu.edu
 
Branimir Vojcic, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D. 1989, University of Belgrade, vojcic@gwu.edu
 
Wasyl Wasylkiwskyj, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.1968, Polytechnic University of Brooklyn, wasylkiw@gwu.edu