Profs. El-Ghazawi, Sorger and Narayana win an AFOSR grant

November 05, 2015

Professors Tarek El-Ghazawi, Volker Sorger and Vikram Narayana win a competitive AFOSR grant in the amount of $752,193. El-Ghazawi is the  P.I., Sorger is a  CoPI and Narayana the second  CoPI.  The grant is titled  "Dynamically Adaptive Hybrid Nanoplasmonic Network on Chips" from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.  This is a 3-year award which started officially on 9/30/2015, for the total amount of $752,193.  The underlying project brings together interdisciplinary expertise from Nano-photonics, Computer architecture and High-Performance Reconfigurable Computing to investigate advanced networking concepts in support of future manycore processor chips with substantial energy savings and performance gains.  The core ideas are to integrate hybrid nano-plasmonic technology with electric network on chips in a Dynamically Data Driven Application System (DDDAS) scheme which adapts to the varying applications requirements.